SOMETHING THAT ALL NEW BLOGGERS WILL RELATE TO…

10

Hi, hello, hey there!

Thanks for stopping by to check out my post about an issue that many new bloggers experience in their first few weeks, months or even years of blogging. I must add that this post has been a long time coming; mainly because this particular situation keeps reappearing in my blogging life.

So what am I going on about? Well, lets start here…

So you’ve finally found the perfect blogging platform, an amazing theme and have even come up with an awesome name for your blog; the only thing left to do is to actually blog right? I mean, how hard can that be? You have tons of ideas for blog posts and even get started on pushing the content out, and then…oh, what’s that… “What am I even blogging about”? “Is my blog even good”? “Does anyone even read this nonsense”? You ask yourselves these questions, and slowly but surely, doubt starts to creep in and makes you question your whole life (or probably just your blog).

I’ve recently found myself in this position and, strangely, I am not new to blogging. Well, in a sense you could say that I am, given that it has been a few years since I last put my stuff out there…but that’s besides the point. What does one do when they find themselves questioning the future of their blogs? How can we address this underlying issue of insecurity? For me it was easy; I needed to go back to the basics and to map out the reasons why I started my blog in the first place. I was then able to take other steps that made me feel completely secure and at ease with my blog, which means that I will hopefully never feel like that again. I’ve mapped them out below and I hope they help those of you who may be going through a similar sort of situation!

What is the purpose of my blog/ What is my niche?

I feel like this was the hardest question that I had to ask myself, because I wasn’t sure that I actually knew how to answer it. Many people create blogs with a basic idea of how they would like it to be, but sometimes don’t think about the impact they wish to have, or what its actual purpose will be. This was true for me; I thought it was enough for me to “know” that I am a creative enough individual to push out content on various subjects that are dear to my heart.

One of the most useful things I have learned so far is the fact that sometimes you do need to define the sole purpose of your blog before you can feel like it is achieving what you want it to. For example, I love to give positive, unbiased and empathetic advice, and to connect with all different types of people, and also on a range of different topics, such as; interior styling, relationships, blogging, or even just on how to make the most of things. As this is such a broad spectrum of topics, sometimes you can feel as though there is never any consistency coming from your blog because you are simply trying to do it all.

My advice to anyone who may be experiencing or feeling like this would be to really take a step back from your blog and to ask yourself what you aim to achieve when blogging. Do you want to sell a product? Do you want showcase your portfolio? Or do you just want to connect with new people in the big wide world? Whatever it is, define it and own; for this is the only way that you will feel secure with what you are producing, thus enabling you to produce more of the same. Consistency is key.

Why isn’t anybody liking my stuff?

Another question I asked myself so many times in the beginning stages of launching my blog. Focusing too much on the feedback/ likes or comments on your blog can really have a disheartening effect in the early stages of blogging.

If you have found yourself in a situation where you aren’t receiving the engagement you’d like from your blog, my only suggestion would be to keep going! I have discussed this issue with many bloggers (old and new) who have all given me the same advice when it comes to engaging my audience. The common theme that has been mentioned is that it can often take a year or so for search engines to start picking up the SEO tags and other links to your site, which means that if you aren’t getting the engagement you like now, you may well do within the coming months.

I’ll give you an example.

A few years ago when I first started my blog, I was constantly creating and posting content several times a day. When I look back, I remember that some of the posts were certainly not my best work, and actually, I would probably be embarrassed to have them publicly available for you all to read now. I also remember making sure that I was pushing my content out via all social media platforms, with the aim of raising my view stats and just generating enough interest in people that they kept visiting. In the early stages, I started receiving a few views/ likes/ comments here or there, but certainly nowhere near the level of engagement I wanted and expected from my blog. To cut a very long story short, I ended up abandoning my blog completely and moving on to other creative projects at work… this is not how I thought my blogging story would end; and, it wasn’t.

After having completely given up on my blog for around 3 years, I decided that 2016 was the year that I’d come back to it, with the aim of picking up where I left off. But what I came across one day when starting this whole blog thing over below me away. When I decided to completely stop blogging I didn’t actually delete my blog, and rather, just left it cyber space with many other abandoned blogs with no one to love them. When setting up my blog again for the second time, I decided I would be nosy and have a look at the stats page to see if I’d had many views since I last checked in… and boy was I surprised. How can this be? Is this right? Something must be wrong here…3000 views? It turns out that during each year of me being totally inactive, I had around 3000 views each year on my blog and the old posts that came with it. This completely inspired me and also blew me away at the same time because this was exactly the motivation I needed and was looking for.

So, I guess what I was trying to say here (before I got carried away with my little story) is like the old saying “The moment you’re ready to give up is usually the moment just before the miracle happens…don’t give up”.

I hope this has helped you and if you have any questions just hollaaaaaaaa (Missy Elliott voice).

signature

Leave a Reply

