Why I couldn’t resist stuffing my face at Limeyard, Ealing.

I ended up spontaneously visiting The Limeyard restaurant in Ealing on my birthday as I fancied a change to my usual hangouts, and luckily I was pleasantly surprised.

L29.jpg

After several hours of debating whether or not I felt like Turtle bay or Cote, I finally arrived in Ealing starving and ready to stuff my guts. I can’t believe how much the restaurant scene in Ealing has developed since like 10 years ago when I was in school and the best restaurant they had back then was probably the Hare & Tortoise. Anyway, back to the food…

We ended up walking past the Limeyard (an American Kitchen) and I suddenly realised that what I wanted all along was a good old STEAK! I really love American cuisine (but not the calories) and obviously the birthday girl deserves whatever she wants on her big day, so I did just that.

For starters, my sister and I shared the Nachos (which, by the way, were TO DIE FOR) and the Steak Tacos. Literally, food heaven! I cannot even describe how amazing the nachos were. I love the fact that the recipe for nachos included spring onions…a combination that I hadn’t thought of before. The nachos were covered in melted cheese, guacamole and sour cream and I haven’t had a nicer bunch of warm, crispy, gooey things in all my years…apart from a smores crepe but that’s a whole other ball game. The portion was so generous that I felt like I needed to unbutton my jeans…after a bloody starter!

IMG_0104.JPG

The tacos were also really tasty and came out really creatively presented on a long tray which was destined to house the mini taco! My only complaint is that the waitress didn’t ask us how we liked the steak and they came out somewhat pink for the medium-well kinda gal that I am. But they didn’t compromise on taste…which is the most important thing obviously!

Before I tell you what I drank (which was a liquid aphrodisiac for the taste buds), can I just remind you all that if it is your birthday, please do not fxcking drive anywhere. I was really disappointed when I realised that I was unable to drink…Anyway, the elderflower and lime soda…ahhhh, the thirst quencher. Anyone who knows me, knows how much I appreciate a sparkling elderflower juice, but this was on another level! It must have been the fresh lime juice. My only problem is that is goes so quickly… I think I ordered around 3. My advice: buy a pitcher.

IMG_0102.JPG

For my main, I had the 8 Oz Sirloin steak, which at £14.95 came with seasoned fries, watercress and a smoked garlic butter. There is always a wow factor for me when I eat steak and it is cooked to perfection, and so it was! Although after a few bites I certainly needed to crack the button and zip on my jeans… I am not exaggerating here people.

Lastly, (and this is my favourite party) dessert. Good lord, the warm chocolate brownie with macadamia nuts, raspberries and vanilla ice cream. Yes, you read correctly…Vanilla ice cream. I specifically asked for ice cream as I wasn’t keen on having frozen yoghurt with my brownie…yuck. More to the point…I felt like I was the ‘chosen one’ each time I took a spoonful of brownie in my mouth. The brownie wasn’t as sweet as I thought it would be, but pairing this with the raspberries added to the perfect combination of ‘sweet and sour’.

IMG_0105.JPG

Overall, I love this restaurant but certainly think there is room for improvement. In particular, the waiting times for food should be reviewed. I cannot remember how long we waited but it must have been around the 20-25 minute mark. I appreciate though, that when food is cooked fresh it can take longer to be brought out to the customer; perhaps this is what caused the delay.

web1-restaurant.jpg

The prices are well worth the portion sizes and the food is delicious. I will definitely be going back, and next time I think I will try the coca-cola ribs that I’ve heard so much about. If you’re looking for a nice day or night out, I would highly recommend visiting the Limeyard. I’d quite like to go back during the day to order from the brunch menu…the Huevos Rancheros sounds right up my street.

signature

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

